WPL Logo

WPL Logo

WPL Logo

subscribe


The zombie stone / K. G. Campbell.

The zombie stone /  K. G. Campbell.
When a zombie followed August DuPont home one day, he didn't expect her to stick around. But Claudette is in no hurry to leave August's side. And when he decides to go to Croissant City in search of the elusive Zombie Stone, Claudette joins him. It's a good thing she does, because no sooner had August set out than a mysterious white alligator began to follow him. Reptiles aren't the only creatures to look out for, though. When August is reunited with his dour cousins the Malveaus, and their menacing mother, Orchid, finding the stone before they do takes on a new urgency. Throw in a swamp doctor, a costume parade, a pop star, a séance, a band of smugglers, and four new zombies, and you'd better believe that August's quest is only going to get more complicated.


Mia Mayhem and the super switcheroo / by Kara West ; illustrated by Leeza Hernandez.

Mia Mayhem and the super switcheroo /  by Kara West ; illustrated by Leeza Hernandez.
After a weird storm, Mia's superpowers are transferred to her best friend, Eddie, and she gets to train him to use them at her secret school.


Alone / Megan E. Freeman.

Alone /  Megan E. Freeman.
Perfect for fans of Hatchet and the I Survived series, this harrowing middle grade debut novel-in-verse from a Pushcart Prize-nominated poet tells the story of a young girl who wakes up one day to find herself utterly alone in her small Colorado town. When twelve-year-old Maddie hatches a scheme for a secret sleepover with her two best friends, she ends up waking up to a nightmare. She's alone--left behind in a town that has been mysteriously evacuated and abandoned. With no one to rely on, no power, and no working phone lines or internet access, Maddie slowly learns to survive on her own. Her only companions are a Rottweiler named George and all the books she can read. After a rough start, Maddie learns to trust her own ingenuity and invents clever ways to survive in a place that has been deserted and forgotten. As months pass, she escapes natural disasters, looters, and wild animals. But Maddie's most formidable enemy is the crushing loneliness she faces every day. Can Maddie's stubborn will to survive carry her through the most frightening experience of her life?


Kondo & Kezumi reach Bell Bottom / written by David Goodner ; illustrated by Andrea Tsurumi.

Kondo & Kezumi reach Bell Bottom /  written by David Goodner ; illustrated by Andrea Tsurumi.
As best friends Kezumi and Kondo continue their exploration, they keep disagreeing about what their next adventure should be but finally remember what matters most--friendship.


Beak & Ally Volume 1, Unlikely friends / Norm Feuti.

Beak & Ally Volume 1, Unlikely friends /  Norm Feuti.
Ally the alligator is perfectly happy being alone... until one day a noisy bird named Beak lands on her snout. Much to Ally's annoyance, this chatty bird likes to sing all the time and has chosen a nearby tree to build his new nest. Even worse, he insists that he and Ally will be best friends. In fact, he has all kinds of friendship goals in mind, and it seems nothing Ally says will convince him that she'd rather just be alone. Nothing beats peace and quiet... except for maybe a new best friend?


Katie the catsitter Volume 1 / Colleen AF Venable ; illustrated by Stephanie Yue ; with colors by Braden Lamb.

Katie the catsitter Volume 1 /  Colleen AF Venable ; illustrated by Stephanie Yue ; with colors by Braden Lamb.
Katie is dreading the boring summer ahead while her best friends are all away at camp--something that's way out of Katie and her mom's budget, UNLESS Katie can figure out a way earn the money for camp herself. But when Katie gets a job catsitting for her mysterious upstairs neighbor, life get interesting. First, Madeline has 217 cats (!) and they're not exactly . . . normal cats. Also, why is Madeline always out EXACTLY when the city's most notorious villain commits crimes?! Is it possible that Katie's upstairs neighbor is really a super villain? Can Katie wrangle a whole lot of wayward cats, save a best friendship (why is Beth barely writing back? And who's this boy she keeps talking about?!), AND crack the biggest story in the city's history? Some heroes have capes . . . Katie has cats!


TBH, no one can ever know / by Lisa Greenwald.

TBH, no one can ever know /  by Lisa Greenwald.
With a Valentine's Day dance, snooping parents, and way too many secrets, these four BFFs have a lot to deal with in the seventh book in this hilarious series told entirely in text messages, emojis, and passed notes, perfect for fans of Invisible Emmie and the Dork Diaries series. It's no secret that Victoria's mom can be OTT overprotective! But lately her anxiety has been too much to handle. So even though Victoria is helping plan the school's Valentine's Day dance, she might not be allowed to go! To be honest, she's going to need lots of help from her BFFs to mend this mother-daughter relationship--and it may mean sharing her most embarrassing secret ever! The question is: Can you take back a secret once you've shared it?


Clues to the Universe / Christina Li.

Clues to the Universe /  Christina Li.
The only thing Rosalind Ling Geraghty loves more than watching NASA launches with her dad is building rockets with him. When he dies unexpectedly, all Ro has left of him is an unfinished model rocket they had been working on together. Benjamin Burns doesn't like science, but he can't get enough of Spacebound, a popular comic book series. When he finds a sketch that suggests that his dad created the comics, he's thrilled. Too bad his dad walked out years ago, and Benji has no way to contact him. Though Ro and Benji were only supposed to be science class partners, the pair become unlikely friends: Benji helps Ro finish her rocket, and Ro figures out a way to reunite Benji and his dad. But Benji hesitates, which infuriates Ro. Doesn't he realize how much Ro wishes she could be in his place? As the two face bullying, grief, and their own differences, Benji and Ro must try to piece together clues to some of the biggest questions in the universe.


The tiger's nest / Trudi Trueit.

The tiger's nest /  Trudi Trueit.
On an island nation in the Indian Ocean, the explorers venture through a vast underwater world and take part in a friendly robotics competition. But the tides of good fortune change quickly. Suddenly, Team Cousteau jumps into action to rescue a faculty member from the brink of death. Meanwhile, the team follows the Cruz's mother's clues to a magnificent tomb and center of spirituality precariously perched on the side of a cliff. There, Cruz is confronted by a familiar foe who's determined to stop him from completing his most important mission of all: Retrieving the final pieces of his mother's cipher. In this life-or-death showdown, Cruz witnesses the ultimate sacrifice and uncovers a hidden message that makes him question his own mortality.


City of the plague god / Sarwat Chadda.

Thirteen-year-old Sikander Aziz has to team up with the hero Gilgamesh in order to stop Nergal, the ancient god of plagues, from wiping out the population of Manhattan in this adventure based on Mesopotamian mythology--


Baby-sitters little sister Volume 3, Karen's worst day / a graphic novel by Katy Farina with colors by Braden Lamb.

Baby-sitters little sister Volume 3, Karen's worst day /  a graphic novel by Katy Farina with colors by Braden Lamb.
Another graphic novel in this fun series spin-off of The Baby-sitters Club, featuring Kristy's little stepsister! Karen is having a terrible day. Her favorite jeans are missing, there's no prize in the Crunch-O cereal box, and Boo-Boo the cat won't play with her. She even gets punished and sent to her room! Karen tries everything to make her day better, but nothing is going right and her bad luck just won't go away. Will this be the worst day ever?


The doll in the hall and other scary stories / written by Max Brallier ; illustrated by Letizia Rubegni.

The doll in the hall and other scary stories /  written by Max Brallier ; illustrated by Letizia Rubegni.
The Clark children are Mia's first babysitting job, and everything is going fine until she sees a life-sized doll sitting in the hallway; a doll that was not there before, a doll that Mr. Clark knows nothing about, and whose eyes follow Mia-- and that is only one of the five scary stories with unexpected twists that are included in this collection.


Halfway to Harmony / Barbara O'Connor.

Halfway to Harmony /  Barbara O'Connor.
Ten-year-old Walter Tipple is grieving his beloved older brother, Tank, when a sassy girl named Posey moves in next door and Banjo, a hot-air balloonist, sets the pair on an adventure.


Lumberjanes 3, True colors / written by Lilah Sturges ; illustrated by Polterink ; lettered by Jim Campbell ; cover by Alexa Sharpe ; created by Shannon Watters, Grace Ellis, Noelle Stevenson & Brooklyn Allen.

A new graphic novel from the New York Times bestselling series where Ripley, feeling the burden of being unique, meets a unicorn with the opposite problem and reminds her of who she is!


Heroes at home. writer, Zeb Wells ; artist, Gurihiru.

Heroes at home.  writer, Zeb Wells ; artist, Gurihiru.
Being stuck inside isn't easy for anyone, even super heroes! See how your favorite Marvel characters have coped being cooped up with HEROES AT HOME! See how Spider-Man, Hulk, Captain Marvel, Wolverine, Black Panther and Captain America do in Quarantine! Let Marvel make you smile, courtesy of artists Gurihiru and writer Zeb Wells' Sunday Funnies!--Amazon.


Just like that / Gary D. Schmidt.

With insight and a light touch, best-selling, Newbery Honor-winning author Gary D. Schmidt tells two poignant, linked stories: that of a grieving girl and a boy trying to escape his violent past. Following the death of her closest friend in summer 1968, Meryl Lee Kowalski goes off to St. Elene's Preparatory Academy for Girls, where she struggles to navigate the venerable boarding school's traditions and a social structure heavily weighted toward students from wealthy backgrounds. In a parallel story, Matt Coffin has wound up on the Maine coast near St. Elene's with a pillowcase full of money lifted from the leader of a criminal gang, fearing the gang's relentless, destructive pursuit. Both young people gradually dispel their loneliness, finding a way to be hopeful and also finding each other.


The Mandalorian : junior novel / adapted by Joe Schreiber.

The Mandalorian : junior novel / adapted by Joe Schreiber.
Relive the excitement of the first season of Star Wars: The Mandalorian! After the fall of the Empire but before the emergence of the First Order, a lone bounty hunter known as The Mandalorian travels the outer reaches of the galaxy. When his newest bounty hunting target turns out to be a small Child, the Mandalorian decides the Child must be protected at all costs. Relive all the excitement of the first season of the smash-hit streaming series in this action-packed junior novel by Joe Schreiber! Includes an insert of color photos from the show!


Shaking up the house / Yamile Saied Mendéz.

Shaking up the house /  Yamile Saied Mendéz.
The outgoing First Daughters play a prank on their incoming counterparts, sparking an epic prank war.


Bad Kitty goes on vacation / Nick Bruel.

Bad Kitty goes on vacation /  Nick Bruel.
Kitty temporarily sets aside her plans for world domination to accompany her beloved Uncle Murray to Love Love Angel Kitty World, which proves to be adventurous in unexpected ways.


 

 

clock image
  • Mon - Thurs
    9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri
    9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat
    9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun
    Closed

 

Library Journal 5-Star Library
Family Favorites
Library Journal 5-Star Library
Family Favorites