WPL Logo

WPL Logo

WPL Logo

subscribe


The almost sisters / Joshilyn Jackson.

The almost sisters /  Joshilyn Jackson.
Leia Birch Briggs heads home to Alabama to help her family manage her grandmother Birchie's descent into dementia, her stepsister Rachel's crumbling marriage, and her own upcoming single motherhood, when a long-kept family secret finally comes to light.


Without fear or favor / Robert K. Tanenbaum.

Without fear or favor /  Robert K. Tanenbaum.


The room of white fire : a novel / T. Jefferson Parker.

The room of white fire : a novel / T. Jefferson Parker.
For fans of Michael Connelly and C. J. Box: a stirring thriller from New York Times bestseller and award winner T. Jefferson Parker. In The Room of White Fire, a P.I. must hunt down a soldier who is damaged by war, dangerous, and on the run. A young soldier escaped from a mental institution. A P.I. carrying his own wounds hired to track that soldier down. A race against the clock to bring the soldier home before he reveals the secret that haunts him. Roland Ford--once a cop, then a marine, now a private investigator--is good at finding people. But when he's asked to locate Air Force veteran Clay Hickman, he realizes he's been drawn into something deep and dark. He knows war, having served as a Marine in first Fallujah; he also knows personal pain, as only two years have passed since his wife, Justine, died. What he doesn't know is why a shroud of secrecy hangs over the disappearance of Clay Hickman--and why he's getting a different story from everyone involved. To begin with, there's Sequoia, the teenage woman who helped Clay escape; she's smart enough to fend off Ford's questions but impetuous enough to be on the run with an armed man. Then there's Paige Hulet, Clay's doctor, who clearly cares deeply for his welfare but is impossible to read, even as she inspires in Ford the first desire he has felt since his wife's death. And there's Briggs Spencer, the proprietor of the mental institution who is as enigmatic as he is brash, and ambitious to the point of being ruthless. What could Clay possibly know to make this search so desperate? What began as just a job becomes a life-or-death obsession for Ford, pitting him against immensely powerful and treacherous people and forcing him to contend with chilling questions about truth, justice, and the American way.


Y is for yesterday / Sue Grafton.

Y is for yesterday /  Sue Grafton.
Of #1 New York Times-bestselling author Sue Grafton, NPR's Maureen Corrigan said, Makes me wish there were more than 26 letters. With only one letter left, Grafton's many devoted readers will share that sentiment. The darkest and most disturbing case report from the files of Kinsey Millhone, Y is for Yesterday begins in 1979, when four teenage boys from an elite private school sexually assault a fourteen-year-old classmate--and film the attack. Not long after, the tape goes missing and the suspected thief, a fellow classmate, is murdered. In the investigation that follows, one boy turns state's evidence and two of his peers are convicted. But the ringleader escapes without a trace. Now, it's 1989 and one of the perpetrators, Fritz McCabe, has been released from prison. Moody, unrepentant, and angry, he is a virtual prisoner of his ever-watchful parents--until a copy of the missing tape arrives with a ransom demand. That's when the McCabes call Kinsey Millhone for help. As she is drawn into their family drama, she keeps a watchful eye on Fritz. But he's not the only one being haunted by the past. A vicious sociopath with a grudge against Millhone may be leaving traces of himself for her to find--


Map of the heart / Susan Wiggs.

Map of the heart /  Susan Wiggs.
Widowed by an unspeakable tragedy, Camille Palmer has made her peace with the past and settled into the quiet safety of life with her teenage daughter, Julie, in a sleepy coastal town. Then the arrival of a mysterious package breaks open the door to her family's secret past. In uncovering a hidden history, Camille has no idea that she's embarking on an adventure that will utterly transform her. Camille, Julie, and Camille's father return to the French town of his youth, sparking unexpected memories-- recollections that will lead them back to the dark days of the Second World War. And it is in the stunning Provencal countryside that they will uncover their family's surprising history.


Seeing red / Sandra Brown.

Seeing red /  Sandra Brown.
Kerra Bailey is a TV journalist hot on the trail of a story guaranteed to skyrocket her career to new heights. Twenty-five years ago, Major Franklin Trapper became a national icon when he was photographed leading a handful of survivors to safety after the bombing of a Dallas hotel. For years, he gave frequent speeches and interviews but then suddenly dropped out of the public eye, shunning all media. Now Kerra is willing to use any means necessary to get an exclusive with the Major--even if she has to secure an introduction from his estranged son, former ATF agent John Trapper. Still seething over his break with both the ATF and his father, Trapper wants no association with the bombing or the Major. Yet Kerra's hints that there's more to the story rouse Trapper's interest despite himself. And when the interview goes catastrophically awry--with unknown assailants targeting not only the Major, but also Kerra--Trapper realizes he needs her under wraps if he's going to track down the gunmen . . . and finally discover who was responsible for the Dallas bombing.Kerra is wary of a man so charming one moment and dangerous the next, and she knows Trapper is withholding evidence from his ATF investigation into the bombing. But having no one else to trust and enemies lurking closer than they know, Kerra and Trapper join forces to expose a sinuous network of lies and conspiracy--and uncover who would want a national hero dead.


The Store / James Patterson and Richard DiLallo.

The Store /  James Patterson and Richard DiLallo.
Jacob and Megan Brandeis have gotten jobs with the mega-successful, ultra-secretive Store. Seems perfect. Seems safe. But their lives are about to become anything but perfect, anything but safe. ALWAYS WATCHING. Especially since Jacob and Megan have a dark secret of their own. They're writing a book that will expose the Store--a forbidden book, a dangerous book. ALWAYS. And if the Store finds out, there's only one thing Jacob, Megan and their kids can do--run for their bloody lives.


A stranger in the house / Shari Lapeña.

A stranger in the house /  Shari Lapeña.
From the New York Times bestselling author of The Couple Next Door, a new thriller featuring a suspicious accident, a wife who can't account for herself, and unsettling questions that threaten to tear the couple apart You're home making dinner for your husband. You expect him any second. The phone rings--it's the call you hoped you'd never get. You jump in your car and race to a neighborhood you thought you'd never visit. You peer into the dark, deserted building. You brace yourself for the worst. And then, you remember nothing else. They tell your husband you've been in an accident. You lost control of your car as you sped through the worst side of town. The police suspect you were up to no good. But your husband refuses to believe it. Your best friend is not so sure. And even you don't know what to believe..--


Magpie murders / Anthony Horowitz.

Magpie murders /  Anthony Horowitz.
A brilliant and strikingly original reimagining of the classic whodunit (a la Agatha Christie) with a contemporary mystery wrapped around it--


You don't have to say you love me : a memoir / Sherman Alexie.

You don't have to say you love me : a memoir / Sherman Alexie.
Presents a literary memoir of poems, essays, and intimate family photos that reflect on the author's complicated relationship with his mother and his disadvantaged childhood on a Native American reservation.


Ginny Moon / Benjamin Ludwig.

Ginny Moon /  Benjamin Ludwig.
Meet Ginny Moon. She's mostly your average teenager--she plays flute in the high school band, has weekly basketball practice, and reads Robert Frost poems in English class. But Ginny is autistic. And so what's important to her might seem a bit ... different: starting every day with exactly nine grapes for breakfast, Michael Jackson, her baby doll, and crafting a secret plan of escape. After being traumatically taken from her abusive birth mother and moved around to different homes, Ginny has finally found her forever home--a safe place with parents who will love and nurture her. This is exactly what all foster kids are hoping for, right? But Ginny has other plans. She'll steal and lie and exploit the good intentions of those who love her--anything it takes to get back what's missing in her life. She'll even try to get herself kidnapped.


 

 

clock image
  • Mon - Thurs
    9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri
    9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat
    9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun
    1 p.m. - 6 p.m.

 

Library Journal 5-Star Library
Best Employers in Ohio 2014
Library Journal 5-Star Library
Best Employers in Ohio 2014