WPL Logo

WPL Logo

WPL Logo

subscribe


Maybe you should talk to someone : a therapist, her therapist, and our lives revealed / Lori Gottlieb.

Maybe you should talk to someone : a therapist, her therapist, and our lives revealed / Lori Gottlieb.
One day, Lori Gottlieb is a therapist in Los Angeles. The next, a crisis causes her to seek help herself, and before long, the struggles her patients bring to her, become the same she brings to her therapist.


The glass hotel : a novel / Emily St. John Mandel.

The glass hotel : a novel / Emily St. John Mandel.
Vincent is a bartender at the Hotel Caiette, a five-star glass and cedar palace on an island in British Columbia. Jonathan Alkaitis works in finance and owns the hotel. When he passes Vincent his card with a tip, it's the beginning of their life together. That same day, Vincent's half-brother, Paul, scrawls a note on the windowed wall of the hotel: 'Why don't you swallow broken glass.' Leon Prevant, a shipping executive for a company called Neptune-Avramidis, sees the note from the hotel bar and is shaken to his core. Thirteen years later Vincent mysteriously disappears from the deck of a Neptune-Avramidis ship. Weaving together the lives of these characters, the story moves between the ship, the skyscrapers of Manhattan, and the wilderness of northern Vancouver Island, painting a breathtaking picture of greed and guilt, fantasy and delusion, art and the ghosts of the pasts.


The boy from the woods : a novel / Harlan Coben.

The boy from the woods : a novel / Harlan Coben.
The man known as Wilde is a mystery to everyone, including himself. Decades ago, he was found as a boy living feral in the woods, with no memory of his past. After the police concluded an exhaustive hunt for the child's family, which was never found, he was turned over to the foster system. Now, thirty years later, Wilde still doesn't know where he comes from, and he's back living in the woods on the outskirts of town, content to be an outcast, comfortable only outdoors, preferably alone, and with few deep connections to other people. When a local girl goes missing, famous TV lawyer Hester Crimstein, with whom Wilde shares a tragic connection, asks him to use his unique skills to help find her.


Hit list / Stuart Woods.

Hit list /  Stuart Woods.
When Stone Barrington finds his name on a hit list, he plans to lie low until the culprit is caught. But when this foe shows no signs of stopping until his deadly objective is realized in full, Stone is left with no choice but to face the problem head-on. Armed and alert, Stone joins forces with his most savvy connections to catch the perpetrator before the next strike. But it turns out this scum is an expert at evasion in more ways than one, and the international cat-and-mouse hunt that ensues has Stone questioning if he has become the predator or the prey... --


Eight perfect murders : a novel / Peter Swanson.

Eight perfect murders : a novel / Peter Swanson.
Bookseller and mystery aficionado Malcolm Kershaw compiled a list of the genre's most unsolvable murders. But no one is more surprised than Mal, now the owner of the Old Devils Bookshop in Boston, when an FBI agent comes looking for information about a series of unsolved murders that look eerily similar to the killings on his old list.


The K team / David Rosenfelt.

The K team /  David Rosenfelt.
Corey Douglas and his K-9 partner, Simon Garfunkel, have recently retired from the police force. Not ready to give up the life yet, they come up with a proposal for fellow former cop, Laurie Carpenter, and her investigating partner, Marcus. Laurie and Marcus, who help out Laurie's lawyer husband Andy on cases, have been chafing to jump back into investigating on their own, so they are in. They call themselves the K Team, in honor of Simon. Their first job as private investigators comes to them from Judge Henry Henderson, who's known as a very tough but fair judge, and they've all come up against him in court at one time or another. Though it's hard to believe, Judge Henderson is being blackmailed and extorted, and he doesn't want to involve the police. He needs the K Team to figure out why.


The hollows / Jess Montgomery.

The hollows /  Jess Montgomery.
Ohio, 1926: For many years, the railroad track in Moonvale Tunnel has been used as a shortcut through the Appalachian hills. When an elderly woman is killed walking along the tracks, the brakeman tells tales of seeing a ghostly female figure dressed all in white. Newly elected Sheriff Lily Ross is called on to the case to dispel the myths. With the help of her friends Marvena Whitcomb and Hildy Cooper, Lily follows the woman's trail to The Hollows, a notorious asylum, and they begin to expose dark secrets long-hidden by time and the mountains.


You are not alone : a novel / Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen.

You are not alone : a novel / Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen.
Shay Miller wants to find love, but it eludes her. She wants to be fulfilled, but her job is a dead end. She wants to belong, but her life is increasingly lonely. Until Shay meets the Moore sisters. Cassandra and Jane life a life of glamorous perfection, and always get what the desire. When they invite Shay into their circle, everything seems to get better. Shay would die for them to like her. She may have to.--


The mirror & the light / Hilary Mantel.

The mirror & the light /  Hilary Mantel.
If you cannot speak truth at a beheading, when can you speak it? England, May 1536. Anne Boleyn is dead, decapitated in the space of a heartbeat by a hired French executioner. As her remains are bundled into oblivion, Thomas Cromwell breakfasts with the victors. The blacksmith's son from Putney emerges from the spring's bloodbath to continue his climb to power and wealth, while his formidable master, Henry VIII, settles to short-lived happiness with his third queen before Jane dies giving birth to the male heir he most craves. Cromwell is a man with only his wits to rely on; he has no great family to back him, no private army. Despite rebellion at home, traitors plotting abroad and the threat of invasion testing Henry's regime to the breaking point, Cromwell's robust imagination sees a new country in the mirror of the future. But can a nation, or a person, shed the past like a skin? Do the dead continually unbury themselves? What will you do, the Spanish ambassador asks Cromwell, when the king turns on you, as sooner or later he turns on everyone close to him?


My dark Vanessa / Kate Elizabeth Russell.

My dark Vanessa /  Kate Elizabeth Russell.
Seventeen years ago, bright, ambitious, and yearning for adulthood, fifteen-year-old Vanessa Wye became entangled in an affair with Jacob Strane, her magnetic and guileful forty-two-year-old English teacher. Now, amid the rising wave of allegations against powerful men, a reckoning is coming due. Strane has been accused of sexual abuse by a former student, who reaches out to Vanessa, and now Vanessa suddenly finds herself facing an impossible choice: remain silent, firm in the belief that her teenage self willingly engaged in this relationship, or redefine herself and the events of her past. But how can Vanessa reject her first love, the man who fundamentally transformed her and has been a persistent presence in her life? Is it possible that the man she loved as a teenager, and who professed to worship only her, may be far different from what she has always believed?


Sword of destiny / Andrzej Sapkowski ; translated by David French.

Sword of destiny /  Andrzej Sapkowski ; translated by David French.
In this collection of short stories, join Geralt as he battles monsters, demons, and prejudices alike.


Saint X : a novel / Alexis Schaitkin.

Saint X : a novel / Alexis Schaitkin.
Claire is only seven years old when her college-age sister, Alison, disappears on the last night of their family vacation at a resort on the Caribbean island of Saint X. Several days later, Alison's body is found in a remote spot on a nearby cay, and two local men, employees at the resort, are arrested. But the evidence is slim, the timeline against it, and the men are soon released. It turns into national tabloid news, a lurid mystery that will go unsolved. For Claire and her parents, there is only sad return home to broken lives. Years later, riding in a New York City taxi, Claire recognizes the name on the cabbie's license. The driver, Clive Richardson, is one of the men originally suspected of murdering her sister. The fateful encounter sets Claire on an obsessive pursuit of the truth. Not only to find out what happened the night of Alison's death but also to answer the elusive question: Who exactly was her sister?


A good neighborhood : a novel / Therese Anne Fowler.

A good neighborhood : a novel / Therese Anne Fowler.
With little in common except a property line, two very different families quickly find themselves at odds: first, over an historic oak tree, and soon after, the blossoming romance between their two teenagers.


Claw enforcement / Sofie Ryan.

Claw enforcement /  Sofie Ryan.
Sarah Grayson owns a delightful secondhand shop in the small town of North Harbor, Maine, where she and her rescue cat, Elvis, are always finding themselves up to their whiskers in trouble. With the help of a quirky group of senior citizens--who call themselves Charlotte's Angels and work out of the store--they solve crimes both new and vintage.


Fighting for space : two pilots and their historic battle for female spaceflight / Amy Shira Teitel.

Fighting for space : two pilots and their historic battle for female spaceflight / Amy Shira Teitel.
Spaceflight historian and creator of YouTube's Vintage Space Amy Shira Teitel tells the riveting story of the female pilots who each dreamed of being the first American woman in space. A book that will appeal to readers of Fly Girls and The Astronaut Wives' Club is the mostly-unknown tale of Jackie Cochran and Jerrie Cobb, two accomplished aviatrixes, one generation apart, who each dreamed of being the first woman in space. But along the way battled their egos, their expectations, and ultimately the patriarchal society that stood between them and the stars. A dual biography of these fascinating and fearless women, using their stories as guides through the changing social, political, and technical landscape of the time.


Spanish.

Spanish.
A self-instructional course teaching essential conversational Spanish.


Japanese.

Japanese.
A self-instructional course teaching essential conversational Japanese.


Hebrew.

Hebrew.
A self-instructional course teaching essential conversational Hebrew.


Chinese Mandarin.

Chinese Mandarin.
A self-instructional course teaching essential conversational Mandarin Chinese.


Such a fun age : a novel / Kiley Reid.

Such a fun age : a novel / Kiley Reid.
Alix Chamberlain is a woman who gets what she wants and has made a living, with her confidence-driven brand, showing other women how to do the same. So she is shocked when her babysitter, Emira Tucker, is confronted while watching the Chamberlains' toddler one night, walking the aisles of their local high-end supermarket. The store's security guard, seeing a young black woman out late with a white child, accuses Emira of kidnapping two-year-old Briar. A small crowd gathers, a bystander films everything, and Emira is furious and humiliated. Alix resolves to make things right.


 

 

clock image
  • Mon - Thurs
    9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri
    9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat
    9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun
    1 p.m. - 6 p.m.

 

Library Journal 5-Star Library
Family Favorites
Library Journal 5-Star Library
Family Favorites